At 09:00 on the morning of 2 February Michael Bierman’s life took a turn for the worse.
He was navigating around the traffic circle of Sandown Road and Sunningdale Drive when the driver of a black SUV bumped into him and raced away again.
At first it seemed like an innocuous incident, but just a few months later the 42-year-old Bierman’s medical and mechanical bills are skyrocketing and his loss of income at his job has intensified.
Now he is looking for witnesses, one in particular, to come forward and ease his pain.
Bierman is in constant agony. A pinched nerve in his neck is making his life untenable with mind-numbing pain in his arms and the medical bills escalate by the day.
The only way doctors can cure him is to perform a R100 000 surgery. Bierman has no medical insurance.
According to him the Road Accident Fund will most likely foot the bill of the operation, but this might only happen in a few months, so he has to carry the costs temporarily.
Between February and August his medical bills have already become unmanageable – along with his life.
“I can’t sleep any more. The pain in my left arm is sometimes bearable but most of the times off the chart. The pain has now moved to my right arm, so I need this operation as soon as possible. I can’t sleep and I can’t do my job any more,” he tells TygerBurger.
Bierman is a freelance film technician and requires the use of his arms.
His financial problems were just exacerbated when he was told that the frame of his motorcycle was also cracked.
The driver of the SUV not only changed Bierman’s life, but then raced off after the accident without stopping.
Bierman has often reminisced the moment of reckoning, so he remembers the day well.
“I went into the circle and wanted to turn right into Sunningdale Drive. As I came back vertical to go out the circle to the left there were about nine cars waiting for me and a car to exit. The next moment from the corner of my eye I saw a black vehicle darting at me from the side and then the car hit me,” he says.
Bierman didn’t fall off his motorcycle, but the bump was serious enough to cause months of trauma.
“The driver just looked at me and drove off! I got his registration number, but it was later claimed by the owner of the personalised number plate that he sold his car before the accident. I will never forget the driver’s face, but I can’t find him anywhere.”
Of the nine cars waiting at the circle the front was a white Opel Cadet. Bierman says this person saw the whole incident unfold and even yelled at the man who drove off.
Bierman never thought of taking his details and now he needs that man to come forward as a witness.
Having a witness could be vital when Bierman tries to claim the money from the Road Accident Fund.
 ***DISCLAIMER: THIS ARTICLE AND PHOTO WERE PUBLISHED IN TYGERBURGER, A CAPE TOWN BASED MEDIA24 COMMUNITY NEWSPAPER. NEITHER MAY BE DUPLICATED WITHOUT ACCREDITING THE SOURCE – TYGERBURGER, MEDIA24.***
